Hegel, The Most Influential Business Author!


Carly Fiorina, former business person and former Senate candidate (trying to unsit Barbara Boxer in 2010), said this in 2001:

The other evening, I attended an event in celebration of the 20th anniversary of the IBM PC. And as part of that event, as is usually the case with such gatherings, there was a squadron of journalists. One young journalist asked me, “Who is your most influential business author?

I looked down at his pad of paper at the responses that he had scribbled down from the other CEOs he had already talked with that night. As you might expect, I saw Tom Peters, Peter Drucker, Gary Hamel and Michael Porter’s names down there.

I paused and said, “Hegel.” To which the reporter shot me a quizzical look — evidently Hegel has fallen off the New York Times business-book list.

I expounded, “Hegel, you know, the process of thesis, antithesis and synthesis. I use it every day.”

[Entire speech is here]

Go figure!

2 thoughts on “Hegel, The Most Influential Business Author!

  1. are you a monty python fan? i immediately got this picture in my mind of a medieval knight in full armor walking out right after she used the word “expounded” and hitting her over the head with a rubber chicken.

Leave a Reply

