Richard Taylor, Zing!


I was re-reading an excerpt from Richard Taylor’s Metaphysics for class this afternoon and laughed out loud when I came across this passage, I had completely forgotten about it:

The theory of soft determinism looks good at first–so good that it has for generations been solemnly taught from numberless philosophical chairs and implanted in the minds of students as sound philosophy–but no great acumen is needed to discover that far from solving any problem, it only camouflages it (43).

Zing!   On a serious note, I do kind of worry about the various forms of liberatarianism/theories of agency, however appealing,  they often strike me as a bit er..anti-science. There is the issue of quantum physics, I suppose (if it’s an issue at all).

3 thoughts on “Richard Taylor, Zing!

  1. Way to kill our popular momentum! I was eager to see what sort of post you will have to follow up your success among the masses and all I get this “I was reading this really boring book with this really deep philosophical stuff” – disappointment…

    Back to obscurity we go, we blew it, man.

      • Good point. I could have timed the boring academic announcement better, maybe a couple of days before our traffic goes back its pathetic numbers… But I’m so unaccustomed to glory and fame!

Leave a Reply

