Consciousness, Dennett and Phil Collins


“Now I see Mikhail approaching me, he looks angry, that makes me fearful, I want to run away, I’m going to run away, but he might chase me, so maybe I shouldn’t run, perhaps I’ll ask him if we can chit chat over some coffee.”

Now, I know very little about Dennett,  but really, this seems to be the gist of his take on consciousness.   The conscious self is nothing more than an objectification or reification of the thing /being/entity behind the act of monitoring by the brain of a human’s chosen course through the world.  Or, since I mentioned Mikhail, I’ll translate into Kantian language: a logical construct that supports the unity of thought.  Consciousness then, is not, at least not just some sort of epiphenomenon excreted by warring factions of a disorderly neuro-cognitive system/psyche.  Rather, in this scheme consciousness would be that which unleashes the lavishness of our world.   I can’t help but think of that Phil Collins song:

4 thoughts on “Consciousness, Dennett and Phil Collins

  1. Yeah, he’s too much like Christopher Cross of that idiot lyric ‘When you’re caught between the moon and New York City…I know it’s crazy, but it’s true…Best that you can do is fall in love…’ just aw-fool. I saw collins do that song on a recent youTube, he’s totally bald by now, but I used to like that song ‘Take a look at Me Now’ from ‘Against All Odds’ (a remake of ‘Out of the Past’ with Mitchum and Jane Greer, who has a small role in ‘Odds’ as well). Now you bring it up, I think it’s only because of the way it was used in the movie, which is very good from 1983 (great supporting part by Richard Widmark as a tough LA power broker), and it’s the one time I ever saw a Best Song Nominee on the Oscars come off during the ceremony: They had gorgeous Ann Reinking dance to it. But, I admit when he’s by himself, he comes across kind of termite. But I should get the Best Appreciator of film and music of the Year now.

  2. The conscious self is nothing more than an objectification or reification of the thing /being/entity behind the act of monitoring by the brain of a human’s chosen course through the world.

    Let’s be frank. It is a program counter which points to the address of the current instruction executed by the brain computer. The brain is a stack machine with some associative memory. Consciousness explained.

  3. Perhaps someone can re-boot Levi. Or help him come up with some new euphemisms. Its a sad day when your therapist wont even allow your virtual self to talk bollocks on the internet. Then again, think twice, its just another day for you and me in paradise.

    I don’t see any need to diss the Collinsmeister. Has everyone forgotten his classic rendition of ‘The man with the horn.’ A title almost as fitting as ‘Tool-Being.’

Leave a Reply

