Handel Will Be Back (Soon)


Yes, I know about the umlaut but Handel was, after all, a British composer by geographical fate. I have listened to more Handel lately than anything else and I think my rediscovered enthusiasm for his operas is shared by others:

Since this is promo for Alcina, his my favorite Alcina aria (“Tornami a vagheggiar”) is included on Patricia Petibon’s new CD, a must-have for all the snobs.

And here’s the making of Petibon’s CD video (in French):

One thought on “Handel Will Be Back (Soon)

  1. http://entertainment.timesonline.co.uk/tol/arts_and_entertainment/music/cd_reviews/article7105016.ece

    Exactly the way I feel about Petipon on the YouTubes you’ve got here. 200 percent! Wow, she’s good.

    “Handel is the greatest composer who ever lived.
    I would bare my head and kneel at his grave”
    — L.v. Beethoven (1824)”

    Well, you’re in good company. I’m not quite sure why I’ve never been that attracted to Handel, and have only heard ‘Tamerlano’ of his operas. The style is hard for me to accept in terms of not getting bored by, although they may surely vary. I think that DVD I heard was from Halle, the Festival there.

    I guess this piece from ‘Rosso’ with the castanets was Scarlatti, was it not? Ms. Petibon has got a rare voice and a fantastic spiritedness, you used to hear this in early KiriTeKanawa, it reminded me of her when she was at her peak, and the nymphomaniacal Donna Elvira in Losey’s film of Don Giovanni is really pretty hot. Ms. Petibon the best thing in years, and I usually don’t think redheads can be beautiful (she’s that too.)

Leave a Reply

