Fun Facts: Chapaev and Void


Reading Markus Gabriel’s essay “The Mythological Being of Reflection” from Mythology, Madness, and Laughter (Gabriel/Zizek) – great essay, by the way, I haven’t read anything this thought-provoking in a while (admittedly, just because I like it doesn’t mean it’s good, regardless of what people say – incidentally, I find the substitution of “It is good” for the simple “I enjoyed it” to be the most annoying substitution among philosophically inclined authors, right next to “I think you should do it this way” advice justified with a simple “because I do it this way and it works for me” – anyway, out of the long parenthesis we go) – came across the reference to Victor Pelevin’s Buddha’s Little Finger.  Apparently this is how Pelevin’s Chapaev and Emptiness/Void (Чапаев и Пустота) is rendered into English. Fun fact!

2 thoughts on “Fun Facts: Chapaev and Void

  1. Reading Gabriel too, and though I’ll save any detailed thoughts for later (which are mostly positive), I have to agree with Bryan that it’s a little dense in places, perhaps unnecessarily dense. When even Adorno’s Hegel is easier to read (and he subscribed to the argument that complex ideas require complex prose) and some of the US Hegel-commentators downright clear…. I appreciate the authors’ statement in their introduction about wanting to do something different, though.
    Re. ‘It was good’ versus ‘I enjoyed it’. Perhaps an attempt to utilise the force of judgments of beauty over those of judgments of taste, to conjur up an imaginary sensus communis?
    A propos of nothing, it’s reassuring to know that we’re all just caught up in a sticky network. Now if I can get that damned double-sided sellotape off my fingers…

    • Yep, the sellotape’s removal requires a third finger and we all know that there’s no such thing as the “third finger perspective” as it would be a “finger from nowhere” – you’re, wait for it, stuck with correlationism!

Leave a Reply

